The UYMP office is operating with very limited hours while staff are on furlough. You can still obtain music from our catalogue in the usual way, from, and hire from our agent Wise Music Classical. Please contact UYMP composers directly, via their own websites, if you have any queries.

How to buy

979-0-57020-926-2 Via della Fortuna – Score Available at MusicRoom Buy now (£14.95)
979-0-57036-266-0 Via della Fortuna – Parts Available at MusicRoom Buy now (£13.95)


Via della Fortuna was written in 2013, especially for the St. Christopher Chamber Orchestra and Donatus Katkus. The piece is in four short movements, each one taking its title from one of the houses that line the main streets in Pompeii. Borrowing Mussorgsky's Promenade from Pictures at an Exhibition, the piece has two walkers (violas) who take the listener with them onto the Via Della Fortuna then lead them from house to house. Several amber objects were found within the houses, linking Pompeii with Lithuania. The last movement returns to the House of the Ancient Hunt then heads northwards along the Gintaro Kelias. The jubilant closing music refers to an earlier work (Geda's Weavings) based on Lithuanian folksongs.

I. Casa di Caccia Antica (The House of the Ancient Hunt)

II. Casa degli Amorini Dorati (The House of the Golden Cupids)

III. Casa del poeta tragico (The House of the tragic poet)

IV. Return to the Casa di Caccia Antica and northwards to Lithuania and the Amber Road (Gintaro Kelias) 


10 minutes
St. Christopher Chamber Orchestra cond. Donatus Katkus, Glamorgan Festival, Cardiff Millennium Centre, 10th May 2013
1 Orchestral Strings
Composition date


10 May 2013

Vale of Glamorgan Festival Urdd Hall, Wales Millennium Centre, Cardiff

St. Christopher Chamber Orchestra cond. Donatus Katkus

25 April 2013

St Katharine's Church, Vilnius

St. Christopher Chamber Orchestra cond. Donatas Katkus