How to buy

979-0-57036-603-3 Songspin Songbook – Score Available at MusicRoom Buy now (£29.95)

Collection notes

Songspin Songbook is a collaboration between Juice Vocal Ensemble and UYMP, funded by an Arts Council England grant.

Described as “the 21st century’s answer to the Swingles or King’s Singers” (The Times), Juice have emerged as the face of a revitalised experimental scene for vocal music.

Songspin Songbook publishes songs from their debut album, SongspinThe album was released on Nonclassical in 2011 to critical acclaim, winning an international Independent Music Award for Best Contemporary Classical Album in 2012.

Featuring remixes by the likes of Camille producer MaJiker and Björk collaborator Mikhail Karikis, the album was reviewed by The Observer as “eighteen immaculately achieved tracks, spanning Elisabeth Lutyens to Gabriel Prokofiev via folk song and avant garde, enchant and enthrall”. Songspin also featured the premiere recording of Elisabeth Lutyens' Of The Snow, which The Telegraph described of a performance by Juice as "an amazing sustained piece of virtuosity".

Songspin Songbook was compiled by Sarah Dacey and edited by James Whittle with Paul Sild.

Artwork designed by Christopher Leedham and Martin Scheuregger.