How to buy

979-0-57020-556-1 Présages Op. 53 – Score Available at MusicRoom Buy now (£13.00)
979-0-57036-215-8 Signals – Score Available at MusicRoom Buy now (£12.95)


Part of the Signals collection

New British music for solo oboe, aimed at university and conservatoire-level students and professionals.
Find out about the collection

Présages consists of a theme, seven variations and a coda that returns to the opening material. Throughout, it reflects Lutyens’ interest in lyrical serial techniques where strict applications of those rules are not to be found in any substantive way, but do allow for each variation to be highly characterised through repeated pitches, or series of pitches; from lyrical, dynamically wide registral leaps, to capricious, virtuosic tonguing, this is music that demands of the oboist a strong attention to detail to make each variation breathe. This is a work that should be in the central repertory of the contemporary oboist.


9 minutes

Janet Craxton, Wigmore Hall, 1965

1 Oboe
Composition date


Elisabeth Lutyens Performed by EXAUDI dir. James Weeks, Endymion October 2006 NMC D124


20 November 2010

Sir Jack Lyons Concert Hall, University of York

Melinda Maxwell

1 December 2006

Purcell Room, South Bank Centre, London

Endymion (Melinda Maxwell, oboe)