How to buy

979-0-57020-145-7 Photos found at Hukvaldy – Score Available at MusicRoom Buy now (£6.95)
979-0-57036-215-8 Signals – Score Available at MusicRoom Buy now (£12.95)


Part of the Signals collection

New British music for solo oboe, aimed at university and conservatoire-level students and professionals.
Find out about the collection

Hukvaldy is the village where Leos Janácek was born, and where he took the first and only holiday he ever had with Kamila Stösslová, the young woman who inspired so much of his later music.  While out searching for her son who had got lost during a walk, Janácek developed pneumonia from which, on 12th August 1928, he died, aged 74. 

These little pieces were finished exactly 72 years later.  They represent photos which might have been found among his possessions when he died:  Olga, his beloved daughter, who died before she reached 21;  Zdenka, his wife, half-Austrian, ten years younger than he, loyal and a little unworldly, given to nagging;  Leos himself, strong-willed and tempestuous, self-doubting and given to bouts of depression;  and the striking young Kamila, happily married to a well-to-do jeweller and deeply unsettled by Janácek’s ardour.  Her smile is more than a little wry.

The pieces may be performed as a group or individually.


8 minutes

Hannah Rowland, BBC Young Musician of the Year, Manchester, 2001

1 Oboe
Composition date


20 November 2010

Sir Jack Lyons Concert Hall, University of York

Melinda Maxwell

16 October 2009

London New Wind Festival, Lauderdale House, Highgate Hill, London

 London New Wind Festival Players including Catherine Pluygers (oboe), Philip Edwards (clarinet), Robert Coleridge (piano)

26 November 2005

8th London New Wind Festival, Regent Hall, The Salvation Army, 275 Oxford Street, London

Catherine Pluygers (oboe)