How to buy

979-0-57036-486-2 Seven Shrinking Machines – Score Available at MusicRoom Buy now (£14.95)


Part of the hcmf// ECPDP Composers collection

In November 2011 and 2012, eight composers took part in the Huddersfield Contemporary Music Festival's European Composers Professional Development Programme (ECPDP).
Find out about the collection

Written for Icarus Ensemble as part of the European Composers' Professional Development Programme 2012 in partnership with the Huddersfield Contemporary Music Festival.

Seven Shrinking Machines is a study in proportion and memory. Seven distinct musical sections are presented, each with their own identity and set of rules; each with their own 'DNA'. One section is removed, and the remaining six sections are presented, each retaining their unique 'DNA'. Again, one section is removed, and the remaining five sections are presented. This process continues until there is only one section remaining. The structural pattern is ABCDEFG/BCDEFG/BCDEF/CDEF/CDE/DE/D - resulting in a total of 28 sections. The first of these is long, and low. Each successive section starts a semitone higher and is one second shorter than the previous section. This gives structural cohesion to a work that is otherwise fragmented in construction.


7 minutes

Spazio Icarus, Reggio Emilia, Italy, 19th November 2012.

1 Flute, 1 B-flat Clarinet, 1 Percussion, 1 Bass Guitar, 1 Electric Guitar, 1 Accordion, 1 Synthesiser
Composition date


Zeta Potential Icarus Ensemble, Nieuw Ensemble, Ensemble 10/10 1st June 2014 Huddersfield Contemporary Records (888174816098)